May 8, 2011

  • Minor Quibble

    Hey Xanga, and hey anyone who still will look when this boy cries wolf,

    I was reorganizing my browser tabs and things and, I don't know if it's just me or something, Xanga doesn't seem to have one of those mini icons that just about every other site on the web has.  Will anyone with more computer jargon tell me what I'm trying to name here?  It's like a desktop icon, only smaller, I guess, the size of a tray icon.  I suppose I could have just gone with tray icon, couldn't I have?  Are those called "tray" icons though?  The tiny little icons in the bottom right next to the clock?

    Anyway, so I get to my homepage tab setup thing, and I decide that I want its organization to reflect the relative importance of, or frequency with which I visit these, my so named homepages.  Like homeboys, I got more than one, but not many more.  Eight.  I have eight homepages; it's all they'll let me have, but it's useful enough since I use the favorites tab like a universal internet bookmark slash browsing history.  Anyway, so I get it all tidied and just the way I want it, but suddenly there is this glaring omission that the low degree of OCD inside of me won't overlook (or, for the rhyme junkies and Beatles fans out there, "let it be"):

    Every other page in the homepage tab has it's attendant diminutive icon, but Xanga does not.  Can anyone tell me why this is, that a community of creatives (and probably not a few OCD sufferers) has managed never to bring this to light, make a contest of things, I dunno, just demand that someone with the access take five minutes, cram a Xanga logo into the appropriate dimensions or formatting or whatever it would take and just, like, apply it?

    I'm no computer genius, so I can't really judge how simple or complex the task really might be, but I'm sure I've noticed this for years now.  And, if no one else wants to, and I'm really the first anal retentive to point it out or complain about it, I'd gladly take the task on myself.

    _____

     

    Also: 

    I believe I am actually, really, in the most plain sense of it, falling in love.  It's truly bizarre how life waits till you've more or less given up on seeking a thing out before it will just magically pop back out into the space right in front of you, or in my case, just a short drive north and west of you.

    Also, also:

    I've finally read a self-help book that was worth reading: Your Erroneous Zones by a Dr. Wayne Dyer.  Yeah, lame, punny title and all, but it was seriously worth my time and further thinking.  I'm slowly going to get everyone I know and love to read this book.  Dunno how old it is or how well it compares with the prevailing psychological thinking today, but I know some part of it really reached parts of me that needed reaching.  Ugh, a self-help book though.  A good one?  Yeah.

Comments (2)

  • Xanga has an logo, I think.  I don't keep Xanga as a homepage, just now I had trouble signing in.  I just noticed though that I appear "on line" on the bottom right hand corner here...I didn't know Xanga had chatting options now. o_O  That tells you how much I come here. :D

  • Yeah, each time I come back, I feel like an older and older man, like years pass in place of weeks.  Oh my god, your profile picture reminded me:  I went to the Norton Simon museum last week, and they had a little box of cards with prints of (I'm fairly certain) some of the work of whoever made your pic!  I almost impulse bought it, but then was uncertain, but seeing it up there, I'm pretty sure it was the right person.  Some Japanese artist maybe?  Anyway, if it is the same guy, I have an idea on a nice little thank you gift!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment